WATC > About > WATC Governing Board

WATC Governing Board

Authority Governing Board of Wichita Area Technical College

Sedgwick County Technical Education and Training
Wichita Area Technical College (WATC) is dedicated to the future and the higher education needs of South Central Kansas. We have framed the future of our college through a five-year Strategic Plan founded on our commitment to ‘Give Your Career Lift’. Through this planning we will continue to build on the solid foundation we worked so diligently to create in the Wichita community over the past 45 years.

As the WATC Board, we continue to be committed to the vision of being the leading provider of higher education that specializes in the delivery of career technical education that drives economic development in our region. The in-depth planning reflected in this five-year plan will assist in our quest to stimulate advancement by adding cutting-edge technology and emerging technical programs to meet the workforce needs of the populations we serve.

On behalf of the WATC Board, I commend all of our partners who have made progress possible and look forward to continuing our work of realizing our vision. We are grateful of our Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioner partners for their support and providing WATC the ability to play a key role as the managing partner of the National Center for Aviation Training.

As we continue to fulfill our mission of providing quality higher education and being the leader in workforce training, we invite you to provide your input and become part of our team in fueling innovation.

Sedgwick County Technical Education and Training Authority (SCTETA) Board Members
Jim Walters – Chair
Sr Vice President, HR & Communications
Textron Aviation
Jeff Turner – Vice Chair
Patricia G. Koehler
JR Custom Metal Products, Inc.
Pete Meitzner
City of Wichita
Council Member, District 2
Cindy Hoover
Director, Fuselage Engineering
For 777, 747, 767 Programs
Spirit AeroSystems
Karl Peterjohn
County Commissioner
Sedgwick County Board of County Commissioners
Kim Shank
Sr. Administrator – Clinical Operations
Via Christi Clinic, PA
Lyndon Wells – Treasurer
Executive Vice President
Intrust Bank
John Dieker
Vice President of Operations
Bombardier Learjet
John O’Leary
Vice President and General Manager
Matt Leary
Wesley Medical Center